You First, Lea Michele's Second Book

Most of us has, at some point, written in a journal or diary. It’s really therapeutic and and an easy way to release bottled up thoughts without having to share those thoughts with other people. To this day, I have a journal that I like to write in on occasion that helps me to gather all my thoughts and feelings and have a chance to process them.

If you know who Lea Michele is, which lets be honest, if you’ve seen Glee or Scream Queens then you definitely know who she is, and you might know that a couple of years ago, she published her first book Brunette Ambition where she shared her experiences and tips on beauty, fashion, inner strength and also a few tid bits about herself.

As, you can probably tell by the titled, this post is about her second book title You First, which is basically a journal combined with outlined exercises and prompts to help you live your best life.

You First: 2

You First: 5

To start off with I want to say that I love the idea of putting ourselves first. Not because of narcissism or anything like that, but because a lot of us are so busy taking care of other people that we hardly ever take the time out that we need for ourselves. I think one way to start doing that is introspect.

If we sit down and actually think about what we need in order to focus on bettering ourselves, we can then begin on that path towards improving. That’s the great thing about this book. Each exercise and question helps you to think about things that you may not even know are missing and how to go about changing them.

Roots

You First: 7

The first section; Roots, gets you thinking about where you came from and helps you explore what your family was about. To be honest, I don’t think about this topic as much as I should. Not only does it have a family tree exercise, but it also asks you questions that make you realize how much your family has shaped you into the person you’ve become.

You First: 8

One thing from my family that I’ve always managed to collect is family recipes. My favorite one being this Red Velvet Cake Recipe my grandmother gave me.

Fitness

You First: 9

You First: 10

This topic is very relevant to me right now, because I’ve recently joined a fitness boot camp. Fitness is more than just being fit. It’s about maintaining a healthy lifestyle and making yourself stronger. This chapter is all about establishing what your fitness goals are and the steps you need in order to achieve them.

Diet & Nutrition

You First: 11

You First: 12

You First: 13

Keeping with the healthy lifestyle theme, there’s also a chapter on diet and nutrition. As you can see by the images above each page has very useful and practical tips and exercises to get our diet/nutrition on the right level. Also keeping with the journal theme, each page as enough space for you to write in your answers.

Ambition

You First: 15

Ambition. This is something I definitely have a lot of. I want so many things and sometimes I just don’t know where to start. The first part of this chapter asks you what your goals are, because let’s face it, you can’t get to point B without A. In this chapter we take a look at our role models in life and do some mind expanding challenges to help us with our goals.

So, at this point we’ve discovered that the beginning of the book focuses on introspection with learning our family backgrounds and setting goals to push us forward. The second half of the book, which I’m sure most of us will really “get into” is, relationships and happiness. We are all constantly trying to build better relationships whether they be with a significant other or friends and family. As far as happiness goes, who doesn’t want that?

In each one of these chapters you learn new ideas and techniques for bettering yourself while also getting that therapeutic feeling we get when journaling. Even better, if you’ve never done a journal before or are just getting back into the swing of it, this book will easily guide you through the process so that it feels as if you’ve been journaling your whole life.

I really enjoyed doing the exercises in this book, and I was quite surprised with the things I learned about myself and those around me.

Do you journal? If so, tell me how you use your journal and if not, tell me what’s holding you back. Thanks so much for reading!!

Xo Echanning 3

**This is a sponsored post. I received this book from blogging for books in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are my own.  **

2 thoughts on “You First, Lea Michele's Second Book

  1. I love and adore journaling–twas my therapy for my teenage angst! (hahaha) I kept one from 2001 through grad school, but sadly, once med school hit, writing by hand kinda flew out the window. My blog is now my journal, which is definitely better than nothing! :O

    I really like the idea of that book! :] Totally agree that a lot of people (myself included) have a tendency to put everything/everyone else first before taking care of themselves.

    Like

    1. I know what you mean, once you get busy with a job, school, etc… some of those fun things fall by the wayside. I’m with you on my blog being my journal, which I guess is why I enjoy it so much!
      Thanks for taking the time to comment! You’re Awesome Farrah! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

