Blogging Resources: Finding Your Niche & Naming Your Blog

Blogging Resources: Finding Your Niche & Naming Your Blog

 

I feel like I should have done this post from the very beginning, but better late than never right? Before you even begin to buy a domain, design your site, or come up with a name, the first thingΒ every blogger has to decide, is what their blog is going to be about. Is it a food blog? A beauty blog? These are important questions to ask yourself when finding your niche.

My blog is mainly about self-improvement & advice, but occasionally I like to change it up and do a recipe here or there. The point is, I do have a main focus for my blog. A lot of people may know that they want to blog, but the problem is, they don’t know what to blog about. Finding a niche for your blog is important because when people come to your blog they want to know what they’re getting.

Mariah Coz from Femtrepreneur gave some great advice about finding your niche. Pick something you enjoy talking about or doing and do that. The key is to pick a topic and make it your own. Make it stand out from other blogs with a similar niche. Here’s how it works:

Examples:

Say you like coffee and beauty.

Coffee + Beauty = The Caffeinated Beauty

Say you like food and music.

Food + Music = The Melodic Foodie

As you can see, the key here is to take a topic that you want to blog about and make it unique by adding another topic you love, something that’s more specific and narrowed down. Choosing a niche can sometimes be difficult because you might have a lot of things you are passionate about, but what is going to help you in choosing, is deciding on what you like the most. Ask yourself, ” What do I think or talk about the most?”

I’ve also heard that a lot of bloggers will have 4 or 5 different blogs with different niches that way they don’t have to choose. You could do this yourself, but not only is that sort of expensive, it’s also not something I would suggest because that’s a lot of work to keep up with. It’s hard enough to keep up with one blog, but trying to keep up with others would make it twice as difficult.

That’s it for this edition of Blogging Resources. Make sure to come back next Tuesday for a new edition or Thursday for a new blog post.

Question of the day: What are two topics you’re really passionate about?

 

14 thoughts on “Blogging Resources: Finding Your Niche & Naming Your Blog

  1. I love this post and most certainly needed it, as I am still struggling a little with my blogs mission statement. Thanks for sharing, love!

    Like

  2. I had the same problems when it came to naming my blog. I shuffled through so many before landing on The Ham & Cheese Of It. For a minute it was going to be named Perfectly Imperfect and was going to focus on lifestyle. But then I realized lifestyle wasn’t my thing, food was. This is an excellent post on how to start your blog out on the right foot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

