Blogging With A New Purpose…..

Blogging with a New Purpose

 

If you are feeling run down or unmotivated with your blog, you have to, HAVE TO, listen to this podcast by Jen Carrington.  Jennypurr is one of my absolute favorite blogs out there. She truly embodies the word inspiration! Ok so, she did a post a few weeks back talking about removing all her advertisements from her blog. Crazy right? How does she expect to make money? Well, that’s where you have change your way of thinking and that’s what Jen talks about in her post.

It’s not about removing advertisements because you don’t want to make money, it’s more about guiding the purpose of your blog to something more, well, purposeful. While I may not be removing advertisements from my blog just yet, I do want my blog do be a place where I feel a creative hunger and focus more on bringing greater content.

Whenever I read her blog posts or listen to her podcasts I always leave feeling like there was something super useful that I gained from her. But what really lit a fire under me, was a combination of her podcast “Making Money With Your Blog Without Relying On Traffic” and an encounter I had with another blogger that left a bad taste in my mouth. 

For a while now, I’ve been in the mindset of relying on other people to like my blog, thinking that it’s the only way to success. That’s a trap that a lot of us fall into because of course we all want our blogs to be read and liked by other people, but that’s not the same thing as success. Success should be based on what you think success is. Whether that is reaching a lot of people, providing quality content, or making a lot of money.

Over the next couple of months, I intend to re-direct my meaning of success as providing quality content. I never want to feel stifled or stagnant, however what I want more than anything is to turn my blog into a place where my readers come and feel some sense of inspiration and leave feeling more knowledgable about whatever topic I’m discussing.

I think blogging is more or less about testing and trying things out to find out what works for you. Like Jen says in her podcast, sometimes with any business or creative venture, you have to take a risk. Risks can make or break a company but they can also lead to bigger and better things.

Are you feeding your creative hunger? How do you blog purposefully?

8 thoughts on “Blogging With A New Purpose…..

  1. I LOVE this post! Thank you for the courage to step into what will serve you and your readers. I myself react to the “this is what you need to do to be ___ (sucessful, etc.)” versus I feel a different impulse. I love that you are committed to following your true purpose and thank you for the inspiration! Love, Marijo http://www.marijopuleo.com

    Like

  2. This sounds awesome, Channing and so glad you’re finding new purpose in your blog! 🙂 I only recently discovered Jen Carrington’s blog through Mariah Coz, so I feel like I need to go back through her past content! I’m excited for you on your new journey in blogging and look forward to seeing what you come up with :).

    Like

  3. I love this! Yay for finding new purpose, and for making sure that you don’t feel stifled! :] I don’t think I’ve come across her blog before, but definitely headed over there right now to check it out! :O

    Like

Leave a Reply

