5 Tools To Get Your Creative Juices Flowing

5 Tools To Get Your Creative Juices Flowing

 

In my last post, What I’ve Learned Through Blogging, I talked about different things I’ve learned through blogging and creativity was a factor in that. I don’t know how anyone could successfully run a blog without some bit of creativity. Ok, maybe someone could but would it be read by anyone?

Creativity is the use of ones’ imagination through original ideas. Most people are inherently creative, they just might not know it or utilize that creativity. I myself am guilty of not utilizing my creative ability to it’s fullest potential. I came to that realization after taking a creativity course through Coursera. One example of such a course is presenting a bowl of fruit to a person and ask them to describe it. One person might say , well it’s a bowl of fruit. Another person would say, I see a bowl of fruit that could be used to make a fruit salad or juice.

What are the tools?

In simple terms, creativity is thinking outside the box and doing what is not expected. Whenever I write a blog post or am trying to come up with ideas for a blog post sometimes, no matter how hard I try, I can’t get my creative juices flowing. This is the point in time when I look to outside sources to get those creative juices flowing again. Let’s call those sources tools. Below are the 5 most useful tools that I’ve found to get my creative juices flowing.

  • Magazines – Feeling stuck on blog post topics? Just look at one of your favorite magazines for topic ideas or different takes on a popular thought. Now, I’m not saying to copy a magazine word for word, because we all know that is wrong ethically and legally. I’m just saying, draw inspiration from what you see. For Example, a magazine might say ; New Ways To Soothe Dry Skin.   You could say; New Ways to Improve Your Skincare Routine. Then come up with the rest of the content on your own.
  • Holidays or Public Issues – This is sort of a fail safe. There is usually at least one national holiday a month for you to write a topic about. Public Issues such as gender equality and freedom of speech are always interesting topics to write about, however, since these tend to be personal opinions from one person to the next, be aware that when you do a post on such topics there will be people who get offended by it and you might stir up controversy.
  • Keep an Editorial Binder – What is this? It’s an organized book to keep all your scheduling calendars (if you’re not already using an app for that), blog post journal, and all other blogging  materials all in the same place so that everything is right where you need it. Why is this important to creativity? Because if all your blogging materials are together in one place, you are more able to gather your thoughts and be inspired by old blog posts that you’ve already done. I highly suggest investing in one of these.
  • Take a Creativity Course – I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again, taking a course in creativity will no doubt get those juices flowing because your being introduced to thoughts and ideas from other creative people, which in turn opens your mind to new thoughts and ideas. There are plenty of free creativity courses out there, all you need to do is find them. You can try searching google or if you want a quick source then try this one.
  • Go Outside – This is the best and easiest advice I can provide to anyone searching for ways to get their creative juices flowing. All you have to do is get dressed and step outside your door. I can’t tell you how many times I’ve been riding in a car on the way to the movies or to visit family and my creativity is just awakened by what’s going on outside my window. One thing is for sure, you won’t be very inspired to create something when you’re staring at four walls.

 

So, those are my 5 tools to get your creative juices flowing. I hope they’ve been helpful to you and if anything I hope they’ve been insightful. Creativity is living inside of all of us, we just have to awaken it. Don’t limit yourself to what you think you can do, because you are capable of so much more than you think!

What gets you’re creative juices flowing? What do you do when you feel uninspired?

14 thoughts on “5 Tools To Get Your Creative Juices Flowing

  1. Thanks for the tips! I have definitely been struggling lately to come up with fresh content that I can feel proud about. Who knows, I am also a perfectionist so I never feel like I am done with a post. These are awesome tips, thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

